3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   General chatter (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/general-chatter-72/)
-   -   Confession: I hate my job (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/general-chatter/253292-confession-i-hate-my-job.html)

FreeBird3 02-21-2012 01:16 AM

Confession: I hate my job

I just need to vent. I know that I'm lucky in the sense that I'm employed while many others aren't in this crazy economy.

I hate my job. I've been with my current employer for almost 6 years now. I've had some good bosses and have been fortunate to move around a few times within the company. Yet nothing feels "right" to me.

I've been working in my field for 8 years now. I'm in the mid 30s now. I've never experienced that "Ah HA!" moment in terms of thinking this is what I really want to do in life.

The stink of it is that I get a lot of perks for being with my current employer for nearly 6 years. Specifically, I get an entire month off from work, good health/dental/vision insurance, and decent 401K. If I jump to another company, then I'm back to square one regarding how much PTO I have and what not.

I just wish I could find a career that I'm passionate about instead of JUST a job. I'm almost 34 years old and all I know is what I'm doing is not what I want to be doing.

Sometimes I cry on the commute home from work. I keep on reading job ads on several job boards, but nothing really appeals to me. I have a mortgage, so I'm "stuck" with having to make a certain amount of income for the time being.

I just want to feel happy in my career. I know some of my emotional eating stems from not being happy with the work that I do.

I just want that "AH HA" moment regarding knowing what career/job I want and that I'm damn good at.