General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 07-11-2011, 11:53 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 166/ticker/131 (for now!)

Height: 5'3"

Default Work-Appropriate Clothing?

Hello everybody! I start student teaching in two weeks, and was hoping some of you could give me an idea of where I can find dresses that have knee-length or JUST above the knee hemlines? I can't seem to find any in the stores I usually shop at (Forever 21, mostly because they are cheap!)

I was placed in 4th grade, so while I won't be on the floor/bending down as much as a Kindergarten teacher, I never know where I'll be placed permanently so I'd like to go ahead and build up my wardrobe work attire now.

Also, if you could suggest stores with "cute" and "flattering" dresses that fit my criteria I'd appreciate it! Seems like a lot of the knee-length or longer dresses aren't very flattering these days.

Thanks so much!
elizabethyellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 11:59 AM   #2  
ddc
getting back to 140

S/C/G: 155/154.2/140

Height: 5'7"

Can you wear leggings under the shorter dresses?
How about capri pants?

I don't wear dresses, so I can't make any recs on dress shops - lol!
Good luck
ddc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 12:01 PM   #3  
Releasing the inner hiker

Have you tried your local consignment shops? It is expensive building a new wardrobe and you may be able to find some flattering outfits for cheap.
Zeitgeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 01:32 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 207/175.5/135

Height: 5'2

H&M maybe? I'm also a big fan of Anne Taylor Loft, especially if you scour the clearance racks.
patootie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 02:21 PM   #5  

Height: 5'2"

I don'k now if they have these stores by you but try Fahion Bug or Dress Barn.
Lindy87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 02:47 PM   #6  

S/C/G: 166/ticker/131 (for now!)

Height: 5'3"