General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 06-23-2011, 01:21 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 349/ticker/150

Height: 5'6

Default So who has a bachelor's degree?

I'm still working on mine, but I just like to ask others these questions!

What is your degree in? Why did you choose your particular major? Is your current job related to your degree? Do you wish you would have chosen a different major? If so, what would you have chosen? Do you feel that the fact that a person has a degree (proving that they can think and use their brain to some extent ) is more important than what they chose to major in?

I'm majoring in History right now, and while I don't feel like it's a mistake I'm wondering if there is a more practical application for it. I could always teach, that's a given, but I'm thinking maybe I'll switch my major to Library Science and minor in History, and look at becoming an academic librian.

I don't know! I'm just tired of people telling me I'm making a bad choice when I feel like it's a good one.

Last edited by glassmenagerie; 06-23-2011 at 01:22 PM.
glassmenagerie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 01:41 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 274/?/175

Height: 5'8

My undergraduate degree is in English, and I minored in women's studies.

My graduate degree (master's) is in public policy and administration.

I work as a research study coordinator at a university. It has pretty much nothing to do with my UG degree- although I think it gave me a lot of good skills. I think there's a lot to be said for majoring in the humanities- it gives you a wide breadth of knowledge and skills that can benefit any job (spoken like a true liberal arts college alumna!)