General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 11-22-2010, 06:49 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 197/199/145

Height: 5'0"

Default death in family

My SIL died last night from complications of heart surgery. I love my brother but am not close to him. It's like we are distant cousins more the brother and sister. Even growing up, it was like we shared a house but never connected as family....weird. I think it's been a good 25 years since we spoke on the phone. I see him and his wife once a year when I visit our parents at big family dinner.

I'm sad for my brother, the pain his going through because he really did love her. I never took the time to get to know my sil.

My dilema, what do I do? It's thansgiving week. I'm wanting to write him a check for what it would cost if I went there and send him a card. but that sounds so cold blooded, that I don't care about him. Which I should, he's my brother.

Once I graduated high school, I left home. My parents were always fighting, and pulled us against the other. If I didn't agree with Mom then I was just like "that f...b....aunt" My dad's oldest sister.

Now that I'm away from them, they both had faults and both contributed to the fights. They would use put downs as a way to control us -you're so fat-you'll never find a husband, you're too stupid to go to college, the army won't take you, you're not good enough.

Know I keep my distance from most of them, send birthday and holiday greatings, the occasional thinking of you email. But don't really interact with the family to keep my emotional health up. The whole family is very draining. I hate to spend much time with them. It's like they make their lives into soap operas and expect someone to fix it.

Oh, I'm digressing. I wanted to show some background about why db and I aren't close
sarahyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 08:17 AM   #2  
I'M A YOGA WIDOWER!

S/C/G: 201/186/180

Height: 6'