Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Closed Thread

Old 03-29-2005, 07:09 AM   #1  

Question Coconut Oil

I'm a newbie here and find this a very informative and supportive place to visit. My question is has anyone used coconut oil in place of other oils or as a supplement. I've read both positive and negative things about using coconut oil. Any feedback either way?

Last edited by Healthy4Life; 03-29-2005 at 07:11 AM.
Old 03-29-2005, 07:50 AM   #2  
it's always something

I looked into it, and decided that I personally was more comfortable avoiding it. I use olive oil most of the time, and have recently discovered hazelnut and walnut oils for some purposes. My personal choice is to wait until the American Heart Association says coconut oil is ok. At this point, they still recommend against it. I do love coconut, and occasionally cook with coconut milk. But that's as far as I'm going with it.
Old 03-29-2005, 08:32 AM   #3  
Meg

The only 'pro' coconut oil info I've ever seen has come from sites selling the stuff. I'd be interested in reading an unbiased source of information about its benefits, if anyone knows of one.
Old 03-29-2005, 01:25 PM   #4  

Even health food stores are carrying it now, but I won't be eating any any time soon. Dr. Andrew Weil -- who does not shy away from alternative medicine or food theories -- says stay away: http://www.drweil.com/u/QA/QA316479/
Old 03-29-2005, 03:06 PM   #5  

So I am wondering what is the best oil to cook with if on a diet. I have an ancient can of Pam (think the label is in hyroglyphics, but not concerned since none of the ingredients are organic) but sometimes you just need more lube for stir fry, etc.

Thanks.
Old 03-30-2005, 07:51 PM   #6  
working off those pounds

S/C/G: 350+/ticker/150

Height: 5'5"