3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Food Talk And Fabulous Finds (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/food-talk-fabulous-finds-17/)
-   -   HELP!!! Very nervous new calorie counter-- (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/food-talk-fabulous-finds/45715-help-very-nervous-new-calorie-counter.html)

reginag 08-26-2004 06:17 PM

HELP!!! Very nervous new calorie counter--

I am totally new to calorie counting and decided to go out and purchase low calorie/low fat items to have on hand and to help lower calorie intake. To my horror, these low far/cal foods look like they are loaded with all sorts of other stuff (some dairy foods, dressing, etc). Mind you, I am not talking junk food, cookies, etc. as I gave refined sugars and carbs a couple of years ago. For instance, I used to buy regular sour cream. When I compared it to the non fat version, sure there was considerably less fat and about 40 less calories/2 TBS, but it was loaded with all sorts of starches/sugar. So here is my question, do you all favor more natural foods with higher fat/cal counts or do you just focus strictly on calorie intake? Maybe instead of eating 2 tbs of the non fat stuff, I should just have 1 tbs of the real thing and save on the calories that way. Please help, I am so confused. :?:

UnCafeCvooPlay 08-26-2004 08:52 PM

I think it just depends on your preference. I believe that a calorie is a calorie when it comes to losing weight, so I just focus on that. It's hard enough for me to focus on cutting calories, and I don't think I could do it if I had to worry about fat, sugar, etc.

Suzanne 3FC 08-26-2004 09:45 PM