healthy recipes for those always on the go?

• I'm a full-time student who works 30 hours a week, so I'm usually in school, work, or on the way to either! Any suggestions for on-the-go healthy meals? I am sick of spending buttloads of money on outside (not-so-healthy) fare. Before the holidays I just did that and gained weight so any suggestions are welcome. Thanks
  • I usually have to pack my food for the day too! Is there a microwave anywhere that you can use? Having a good thermos and a lunchbox that can act as a cooler has been very helpful for me also.

I eat a lot of canned tuna & salmon, salads with the dressing in a seperate container- I make mashed sweet potatoes with cinnamon and microwave them, lots of fresh fruit and veggies, jerky, leftovers in my lunchbox with an ice pack, nuts, and protein shakes.

Invest in a good lunchbox so that you can keep things cold- that's been a lifesaver for me!!
  • I can use the microwave at work but have yet to find one in school. Do you mind maybe PMing me some recipes or posting them on here? I am literally so bad with figuring out what to eat...

I was looking at canned stuff, but I'm worried about the sodium content. Fresh veggies/fruits are easy I love mangoes and strawberries especially. What do you put in your salads? I find them kind of boring. And what are in your protein shakes?

Thanks!!
  • My husband goes to school full time and works full time, so he eats a LOT of his meals out of the house! I pack things like...

- Fresh veggies and fruits! Apples, pears, berries, carrots, sweet potato fries, etc.
    - Beef/Bison jerky
    - Yogurt (we make our own now, but before that we'd get the BIG tubs of it and pack it ourself in reusable tupperware - cheaper, and better for the environment!) either plain or with frozen berries, honey, or jam