Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 09-21-2010, 04:24 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 175/ticker/130

Height: 5'6

Default Super Portable Foods?

Hey, chickies!

I'm a college student who lives off campus. I walk to and from campus two to four times a day. Yay, exercise.

Even so, on Mon/Tues I have classes and work from 8am-5pm and then have off until 6:00pm-8:00pm when I work again.

I tend to be able to eat breakfast (usually oatmeal or frozen waffles, about 300 calories.) And then I have to...not eat...until 9pm. I CAN go home from 5-6 but since it takes 30min to walk to and from school, it seems like a total waste of time. It certainly doesn't allow much time for food preparation.

I already lug around a 20lb book bag on these days. I would like to avoid having to haul a lunchbox around as well.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to super portable foods that I might be able to throw in my book bag and eat between classes? I once took a small bag of raw broccoli with me. It kept me from feeling like I was starving, but I also didn't feel satisfied and still ended up binging that evening.

In case anyone is wondering: Yes, there is a cafeteria available to me from 5pm-6pm. Unfortunately, I do not have a meal plan. Because of this, I would have to spend about 8-10 dollars per meal that I purchase on campus. I just feel like it's a lot of expense for foods that are frankly rather unhealthy.

I'm not used to this strange arrangement. At my previous college I always had the opportunity to eat three meals a day. Most of the times those meals were a bit questionable in regards to healthy options and they were often rushed due to time constraints, but there was never the necessity to just go without food all day.

Now I feel like I either have to load up at breakfast to make it through the day or make up for it at night by over-eating and binging on dinner. This will not do!

Thanks, chicks!
Shifterred is offline   Reply With Quote