Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 10-11-2007, 10:51 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 209/209/160

Height: 5'9

Default Identify that Squash!

Hi guys,

I picked up these squash at the farmer's market, but I don't know what they are or what I should do with them. The photo isn't great, but the little front squash (which is fresher than the other) is a very bright and vivid yellow. Guesses/Suggestions?

Mystery Squash.jpg
baffled111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 11:32 AM   #2  

I'm not an expert, but there is a variety of pumpkin that is yellow. I think it is used in Indian cooking. There;s also a small yellow pumpkin and the variety is called "Halloween in Paris". How big are they?
Grasshoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:45 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 209/209/160

Height: 5'9

They're quite small. The little one in front looks like a single serving squash. Maybe 2-3 inches high and 5" across.
baffled111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 01:05 PM   #4  

I was thinking some type of pumpkin as well.

What works with the winter squashes I have tried it to peel it, chop it up, add some chopped onions and some other veggies of your liking, toss with a little olive oil and whatever seasonings you want and roast them. 400-450 degree until they are done. hard squashes will take longer probably than something like broccoli or zucchini.

I've actually never found a veggie that didn't work well with this cooking method. I made butternut this way, broccoli, potatoes, zucchini, eggplant, caulflower green beans. sweet potatoes, carrots, turnips. etc. I suppose corn wouldn't work well cuz the little kernals would burn
LindaT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 01:51 PM   #5  
hara hachi bu

They look like those little decorative pumpkins. Are you sure they're supposed to be eaten?

Last edited by phantastica; 10-11-2007 at 01:51 PM.
phantastica is offline   Reply With Quote