Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 07-15-2007, 03:29 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 240/230.6/216

Height: 5'4"

Talking Grocery List?

Hey everyone. I just started this diet last week, so I don't have the healthiest of food options in my apartment right now. I want to go grocery shopping tomorrow or tuesday to stock up on some healthier food, but as I'm new to this I don't really know where to start.

What are some foods you all would recommend that are good for weight loss? Obviously I'm going to go for fruits and vegetables, but what else? I've seen "Kashi Go Lean Cereal" [Or whatever it is, I know the name was close to that...] mentioned on the boards a few times, so I figure I'll pick that up. Are Kashi brand foods generally a good idea?

Anything else that you would recommend as a good food item to have if you're trying to lose weight?
Gretchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 03:56 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 218/175/155

Height: 5'6"

My favorites:

1% or 2% plain Greek yogurt (or just plain yogurt if Greek is unavailable)
Uncle Sam Breakfast Cereal
Unsweetened Soy Milk
Low-fat Cheeses
Frozen fruit for smoothies (raspberries, blueberries, etc.)
Flaxseed meal (to add to smoothies, oatmeal, & baked goods)
short grain brown rice
steel cut oats
Miltons whole grain breads (high in fiber and no HFCS)
bananas
Lots of in season veggies
other fruits
no salt added natural peanut butter
high protein extra firm tofu (for stir fries & such)
mori-nu lite silken tofu (for smoothies)
ww high fiber tortillas (La Tortilla brand)

I have other faves as well, but this is all I can remember right now.
zenor77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 04:24 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 165/147/128

Height: 5'3"

salmon, tuna, chicken, lean beef like little steaks, fat free cottage cheese, pounds of baby carrots and bathtubs full of greens.
srmb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 04:47 PM   #4  
One Day At A Time

S/C/G: 318/ticker/150