Old 04-19-2006, 02:50 PM   #1  
210 / 193 / 140

Default Belly Dance DVD Suggestions?

I'm looking for a good belly dance video. I'd like to find either a dance-along video (is there such a thing?) or a workout that uses dance moves and music. Something intermediate, neither super-simple nor overly complicated. I studied belly dance for four years, so I don't need a how-to tape. I just want something that'll let a fat middle-aged lady have fun dressing up and dancing in the privacy of her own home.

Is there a good DVD other than the Neena and Veena series? They're great performers, but as instructors, they come across kind of cold and distant. And they don't vary the movement often enough in their aerobics tapes, so I never feel like I'm dancing.

Any suggestions? (I'm also open to good Latin/salsa workouts, if anyone knows of any.)
Margarita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 04:58 PM   #2  
Oddball

S/C/G: 185/157.4/135

I'm still in the beginner stage with the bellydance videos, but if you like latin/salsa, Crunch Cardio Salsa is a fun one!
Betani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 06:00 PM   #3  
210 / 193 / 140

Thanks for the suggestion, Betani. I've actually thought about getting Crunch Cardio Salsa, but so far I haven't found anyone who could answer a couple of questions for me. Would you be able to help me out?

I got a Crunch video a long time ago where they actually kept stopping the workout to explain each new step. It was really irritating to be interrupted over and over like that. Does this video also do that, or can you go straight through without continually stopping to listen to explanations?

And what is the music like? Is it really repetitive, or is there some variety? I have an Elise Foss salsa workout where it sounds like they're repeating the same two or three bars of music for the whole workout. The workout itself is good but the music is so monotonous it just drives me batty. Please tell me Crunch isn't like that!