Old 08-23-2007, 12:25 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 215/186.5/130

Height: 5'3

Talking Church question

Im new in my journey with finding god, now im trying to find a chuch. Im not sure what kind of church I should go to. Whats the difference in a baptist church and and a christian church, or is it the same thing??
staciec878 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 12:28 AM   #2  
I have less blubber!

S/C/G: 207/203/160

Height: 5'3"

lol a Baptist church is a Christian church..I love Baptist churches myself....They aren't so terribly formal.
sockmonkey70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 12:31 AM   #3  

Do they not have different beliefs? Im sorry Im so new at this.
Old 08-23-2007, 12:43 AM   #4  

S/C/G: 158/142/at or below 135 lbs.

Height: 5'5"

Hi Stacie,
Christians believe in God, but they also believe that Jesus Christ is his son, who was crucified. Then comes the Easter story, which I'm sure you know, that on the 3rd day after his crucifixtion, he rose from the dead and ascended into heaven. To be a Christian, you have to believe not just in God, but in Jesus - that he is the son of God and died for our sins. That is the core belief of Christianity.

Baptist is simply a Protestant (as opposed to Catholic) denomination in the Christian religion. Catholicism (also Christian) had a firm hold in Europe for hundreds of years until the Protestant Reformation created a schism and broke away. Protestantism has many denominations - all are Christian; they just have slightly different ways of worshiping and sometimes different doctrine (different ways of interpreting the Bible). Baptist, Methodist, Lutheran, Presbysterian, Episcopalian are all considered Protestant. They are less formal ususally in their worship service than Catholics.

Good luck in your search for a church. Just try a different one out each Sunday until you find one you're comfortable with.
walking2lose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2007, 12:49 AM   #5