Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-15-2006, 09:41 AM   #1  
Nancy

S/C/G: 353/T/168

Height: 5'3"

Default Vacuuming at the gym?

I joined the gym in my office building at the start of the year and have been working out there regularly ever since. It is a small family owned gym and very laid back. In the last week or so, they have hired a new guy who is there in the evenings while I go. The thing is, he is vacuuming during regular gym hours and it is really bothering me. Both from a standpoint of the dust that is kicked up in the air, but also because working out has become a real pleasure (almost meditative), and I find the noise irritating.

Since I am new to gyms I am not sure if this is common practice or if this guy is trying to get his work done during business hours so he can go home earlier. Does anyone else go to a gym where they vacuum while you are working out?
NotTheCheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 09:53 AM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

I used to go to Ballys late at night and they would vacuum while the gym was open. It is a pretty empty that late and of course a gym like 24 hour fitness would have to vacuum while they are open. So I've seen it before.
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 12:19 PM   #3  

I've seen it once at my gym. I think it was during the day, even, not close to closing time. It was kind of irritating to me, as well, but I figured at least they were keeping the place clean.
hellcatjill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 02:17 PM   #4  
Working My Way Back Down