Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 11-22-2012, 06:53 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 238/238/154

Height: 5'5

Talking Yoga!! Yes or No?? Does it help weight loss? :)

Hi,

I'm just starting out attempting to lose weight for the millionth time. I want to give myself the best chance this time so advice please.

I've always fancied doing yoga. I find it very difficult to relax so I also think that might help with that problem. I can't afford classes and tbh I live in the sticks so there probably wouldn't be any around here anyway.

So a. does yoga help with weight loss?
b. could I use a dvd or a book to learn from or is classes the only way?
c. If so any recomendations for dvd etc?

And anything else I might need to know.

Thanks!
Oops A Daisy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:24 AM   #2  

Any exercise will help. I love yoga myself. You can google free yoga exercises and get all you need. I also use the Biggest Loser Yoga for Weight Loss dvd.
QuilterInVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:26 AM   #3  

Ooooh, thanks, I'll have a look
Old 11-26-2012, 02:23 AM   #4  

S/C/G: 260/257/180

Height: 6'0

Default Yoga

Tons of free Yoga workouts on the you tube too! Just watch before you do, you'll know what you can't do, make adjustments. Good Luck.
trabo2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:22 PM   #5  
Lifestyle Changes

S/C/G: 295/sig/175

Height: 5'9

I love doing yoga at home. I recommend the mat, of course, and some blocks. Sometimes they use a strap but I find for most things a towel will work. At least until you know you want to continue. I just ordered a strap since I've fallen in love!

But it's not a 'torch calories' type deal, at least not for me. I love Rodney Yee's dvds, especially the 5 Day Yoga Workout dvd. I've heard good things about his Yoga for Beginners. Gaiam dvds are all pretty good and Element has a beginner dvd I enjoyed but I can't remember who instructs on it.