Hiking!

• Hi chicks,

I haven't seen a thread devoted to this fine activity/sport/whatever you call it, so I'm starting one. Pictures and adventure tales are welcome!

My boyfriend is an avid hiker who goes on 2 week long, strenuous solo hikes during which he eats peanut butter and honey sandwiches and loses 20 pounds. I'm a novice who, until 2010, would probably die trying to reach the peak of any mountain over 1000 feet. While I was living in Japan I climbed the tallest mountain in the region I was living, Hikosan, which was spectacular:

I grew up and currently live very close to the Adirondacks, Catskills, Taconics and Berkshires - yet I haven't really done much hiking at all. Time to start! Tomorrow we are going on a 12 mile hike over the Tongue Mountain Range.

Do you normally make sure to eat lots of carbs before a significant hike? I don't want to start out at too steep a deficit. I ate a lot (>2000) yesterday but not many complex carbs, and today I've had yogurt and a chicken salad. The hike tomorrow will probably take 7-8 hours. I'm planning on packing 3-4 liters of water and a bunch of energy bars "just in case."
  • Oooh! I LOVE hiking!

That view from Hikosan looks spectacular. My father is an avid hiker as well. He has hiked the entirety of the Appalachian Trail, hiked in China, and the Himalayas.