I need advice for joining the gym!

• Hi! I'm considering joining the gym at my university campus. It's really cheap ($100 for a year) and it has decent equipment and all the Les Mills classes, so I feel like it's a really good deal. I have two questions/foibles:

-Should I opt for a gold membership ($200) which entitles me to 3 personal trainer sessions? I have no idea how to use any of the treadmills and cross trainers and things, and I want to make sure I'm doing the weights with correct form; can I manage this myself or do you ladies and gentlemen think it'd be a good idea to go for the PT sessions?

-I am not sporty or coordinated. I don't have matching workout gear (more like baggy t shirts and an old pair of trainers!). There are a lot of jocks (for want of a better term) at my campus. I feel like I'm going to be the odd one out and get JUDGED

Any advice for a total newbie?
  • If you can afford the plan with the trainer, then get it.

As for what you wear, most gyms have regular fashion shows where you are judged on how cute your workout clothes are. Your trainer will most likely spend the first session counseling you on what to wear and how to look your best so as not to offend the other gym attendants with your attire. This is important, as their comfort comes first, your work out comes second. You should also be paying close attention to what other people are wearing and give them "judgey eye" if they aren't dressed to the 9s.

Or your gym might be one of those where no one gives a hoot what anyone else is wearing because they are all too busy on their own workouts.

Have fun! That is a great price for a gym!
  • LOL@ gym fashion shows