How often do you go to they gym?

You're on Page 1 of 2
Go to
  • Hi everyone,

So my question is pretty basic. How often do you go to the gym? or purposely exercise?

I tend to only go to the gym 3-4 times a week. I do a 60 minutes high intensity cardio (my heart rate is on average about 168bpm) and then some basic weights, stretching and maybe some pilates or yoga to cool down. I'm just a bit worried that I'm not spending enough time moving through the week. I am a full time uni student through the week, so I spend most of my day either in lectures or on a computer. The weekends don't tend to be a problem because I work retail and am on my feet for 6-8 hours at a time.

Thanks for your help.
  • 3x a week, one hour 1/2 cardio 1/2 weights. I run more often outside when it's warmer.
  • I go to the gym to weight train only 3-4x/week, 40 mins...

I run outside 3x/week, 50 mins...

Sometimes, I run and weight train on the same day... just depends on how the schedule goes...
  • I go to the gym... when I want to go to the gym . I end up there usually 6 days a week, but I never feel like I have to "force" myself to go. I go becasue it makes me feel awesome!

I lift 3x/week (that usually takes me about 45 minutes) and then get in my cardio. I LOVE the group exercise classes my gym offers, so I've been using cycling and martial arts inspired classes for my cardio.
  • I try to go 5x a week, doing weights 3 of those days. I don't have school or 'work' though. I am a stay at home mom, as long as my house isn't completely trashed my husband doesn't care how much time I'm in the gym! lol I'm sure if I had a 'real' job or school I wouldn't go near as often. Do what you can when you can, it's certainly better than nothing!
  • Like tuende, I usually go to the gym 6x a week. I have a GREAT gym with really fun classes and instructors, so I actually look forward to my hour long workout every day.