Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-10-2009, 03:25 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 307/lost 140+ lbs/125

Default what exactly does "bulking up" mean?

Hi--

I've heard this phrase a lot, but what exactly does "bulking up" mean?

If you for instance, bulk up in the arms or legs, how does one go about reducing or eliminating the "bulking" up muscles so you have nice and slender leg/arm muscles instead?

thanks!

~ tea

Last edited by teawithsunshine; 01-10-2009 at 03:27 AM.
teawithsunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 07:54 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 275/142/150

Height: 5'11"

women cannot do a bulk without specific training and diet. They also do not have the hormones like men do.
jessisaokay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 10:39 AM   #3  
No description available.

I've been lifting weights seriously for 10 months. I am gaining strength and losing body fat but I am most definitely NOT bulking up. I wish I could a little bit, actually. My muscles are defined and strong, but I am smaller than I have ever been at this weight.
midwife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:01 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 247/170/163

Height: 5"10'

jessi got it right women are hormonally different most of those huge woman are definitely on some type of steroids, but lifting heavy with low reps is still a very good way to lose body fat. Even for some people like me I eating around 3500 calories a day lifting heavy weights and still losing weight.

Last edited by notsofatguy; 01-11-2009 at 02:11 PM.
notsofatguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 02:04 PM   #5  
Ilene the Bean