Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 07-24-2008, 09:55 PM   #1  

Height: 5'7"

Default Running form question

Hello everyone!

I have a quick question. I am a relative beginner with running (or, rather, with jogging). Pretty much what I do is get out there and jog what I can, and walk the rest. I have seen great strides in my progress over the last month or two since I started jogging regularly, and that is wonderful. I love it and I want to keep moving forward!

However, the past couple of weeks I have noticed that while I am running, my upper abdominal muscles feel crampy and sore. Not enough to make me want to stop running, but just enough to be uncomfortable. When I get home to stretch, I realize my lower back is equally sore/tight. Everything is generally okay again after some time and stretching.

Now, I'm wondering if this is kind of normal as my core strengthens, or if this sounds like I'm doing something wrong. I have looked at a couple of sites regarding proper running form and from what I can tell, I'm running properly (good posture, slightly leaning forward, shoulders relaxed, etc), but wanted to toss this out to the collective consciousness out there to see what you guys think.

Thanks!
suitejudyblueeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 10:15 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 193/182/147

Height: 5'8

Just some thoughts...I'm a "re-beginner" runner on this sight, however I used to be an avid runner and I can tell you from things from my experience. If you are top heavy...the ladies are large...you need a very supportive sports bar. I actually have to wear 2 at a time because my twins are out of control. Any ways, tie those ladies down as tight as you can stand it.

Also, they say to lean forward slightly...just make sure you aren't hunched over. It is very easy to move past a "slight lean" and all out horrible posture. This will not only pull on your lower back but it will crunch up your ab muscles.