Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 02-24-2008, 01:18 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 150/139.5/120

Height: 5' 4"

Default Track running

Hi,
So, I am new to distance running (did track in HS), and am trying to work in some intensity into my three and five miles. Right now I am doing them on the treadmill and an indoor track (due to nasty weather), and so in order to simulate "normal" running conditions I keep my treadmill at at least 1% or higher incline. Does anyone know if running on the track is considered significantly easier than trails or road running? If so, any suggestions for how to up the intensity on a track to compensate?
Thanks!
Emily
freshman15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 09:32 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 153/130/135

Height: 5'7"

Hi freshman15! When you say "significantly easier," I assume you are referring to the amount of effort expended on the various surfaces. One would assume that even the flattest of outdoor roads isn't as consistently flat as the track you're running on indoors. With that being said, the roads on which I run are pretty level, so there's not as big a difference in track-running versus road-running for me. You might try using this "HIIT" (high-intensity interval training) everyone is talking about these days, a description of which can be found in the exercise forum here. Essentially, switching up your pace during your run, as opposed to running at a constant speed, is a great means of upping your intensity.