Personal Trainer... yay or nay?

• Hi all, I'm ready to ramp things up a bit by joining a gym. What do you think about working with a personal trainer...is it worth the $$$?
    Besides the hour with a trainer I get when I sign up, I'm considering buying a few sessions with a trainer as well. How often do you meet with your trainer? I'm thinking maybe it'd be good to have someone asess where I am, then help me devise a plan and maybe review once a month? I'm very new to all this and was wondering what the norm is

Thanks!
  • The most cost effective will be to do just as you said...get an assessment, do a session or two to develop a program, do another session or two in a month to reassess and re-plan.

If you have more money, it can be great to see someone once or twice a week, just so you can get your rear kicked. My days with my trainer were always my hardest lifting days, and he really kept me working right at the edge of where i was so I was constantly improving. I could never afford to see him that often, though.
  • I go to a gym where the montly fees include weekly personal training sessions! I LOVE it! I get to check in with my trainer once a week to keep me accountable and to get the extra push I need when doing resistance/weight training. I don't push myself nearly as hard as she does! Good luck with what ever you do and if money is an issue, I'd do the assessment, meet with the trainer once or twice to get a program started, then check in with the trainer montly and then in a couple of months get reassessed and revamp your program. Good luck!
  • Quote: I go to a gym where the montly fees include weekly personal training sessions! I LOVE it!
    This in how it is at my DH's gym. I cannot go there because of the distance and the fact that they don't provide childcare. He is recovering from an back injury and this has been such a nice perk.