Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-28-2008, 08:08 PM   #1  
Wannabe Health Nut!

S/C/G: 228/ticker/128

Height: 5"4

Question Nordic Walking - Does anyone do this?

Anyone? I'm really curious but not yet curious enough to risk the wrath of DH by asking for $70 poles!
LittleMissMotivation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 09:42 PM   #2  
Maintaining :)

S/C/G: 215/117/120

Height: 5'4"

Yes. And I really enjoy it! We use our poles for hiking as well. They work GREAT! There are several ski walkers in our town that use their poles, so it is becoming common. While we were hiking in Yosemite over Christmas, several people commented that they wished they had poles.
CountingDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 10:46 PM   #3  
Rosebud

S/C/G: 30/Goal Met:L-XL/relosing some

Yes, I have been doing NORDIC OR SKI-WALKING for two years now; and I love it too; and as COUNTING says, they are great for hiking as well (very popular in Europe). The poles give me balance and strength so that I can walk much better in snow and sand (I have Spina Bifida and the related weak back issues; spine not closed).

$$$ ~ And you don't have to pay a fortune for good poles either; I got two pairs like new from our local second-hand shop during the winter season for only a buck a pair (got some for both Dh and myself). You can try goodwill, the Salvation Army, eBay, second-hand shops, or check out your local classifieds or run an ad: many people have them sitting around in their attics or basements collecting dust; and the money you will save will more than pay for the ad many times over.

ROSEBUD
Justwant2Bhealthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 04:37 PM   #4  
SkiWalking

S/C/G: 200/190/180

Default YES - Nordic Ski Walking Is The Real Deal!