3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Exercise! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/exercise-34/)
-   -   stairstepper machine (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/exercise/130699-stairstepper-machine.html)

lilybelle 01-09-2008 12:43 AM

stairstepper machine

I am new to working out at a gym since Jan.1st. I was told at my gym that the stairmaster stairstepper provides a great allover workout. Realistically, I can see that it doesn't work the arms. I have been using this machine for 30 min's each time I visit the gym (6 out of the past 7 days). My problem is that my ribcage and upper back is screaming in pain. I'm also doing weight lifting with alternating upper and lower body workout days.

Tonite, I did my routine for my hips and legs, plus did the stairmaster. Is it normal for me to be this sore? Is it just cause I'm new to the weight lifting or that I'm simply overdoing it and not letting my muscles have time to rest.

Should I alternate days on the stairstepper also and just walk on treadmill on the opposite days? Any help or advice would be appreciated. (prior to joining gym, basically my only form of exercise was walking).

Meg 01-09-2008 02:59 AM

Lily, I moved your question into the general exercise forum because I think more people will read it here and hopefully be able to help. :)

A stairstepper is a cardio machine and can be used interchangeably with any other cardio machine in the gym, such as a treadmill, bike, or elliptical. If the stairstepper is giving you problems, yes, most definitely switch off with other kind of cardio. Cardio shouldn't ever hurt -- the goal is to elevate and sustain your heart rate, not cause pain!