3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Exercise! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/exercise-34/)
-   -   That feeling exercise gives you (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/exercise/121290-feeling-exercise-gives-you.html)

NoVaVTFan 08-26-2007 09:32 PM

That feeling exercise gives you

I have never been an athletic person. Growing up, I tried just about every sport - soccer, softball/baseball, basketball, etc. but nothing every worked out or was enjoyable. I started riding horses in 3rd grade and continued that until my senior year of high school, and I guess I would consider this my "sport" growing up. I stopped riding horses in college, though, because it was just too expensive - it was college or horses, and college won over.

Not being an athletic person or enjoying playing sports, exercise has never been important to me. I started working out for short amounts of time at gyms when I was in high school, but never kept with it for more than few months at a time. I have basically come to believe that I just don't like to exercise. It is never something that I would label as "fun." But, I know it is an important part of weight loss and life in general, so I am forcing myself to exercise at least 2-4 times a week now. I usually do cardio and add weight lifting on top of that twice a week. I never really enjoy it, but I do it because I know I need to. (I exercise at home on my elliptical and with my workout DVDs/weight videos.)