Does it Work? Unsure if the latest product or service lives up to it's claims? From popular products to the latest scams, discuss it here before you buy!

Closed Thread

Old 12-19-2006, 01:31 AM   #1  

Height: 5 ft 5

Default wellbutrin

I have depression and decided to go on antidepressants. I chose wellbutrin XL 150mg because I want the activating effects + the weight loss benefits. I know weight loss can be minimal but I am wondering if anyone here has had experience with Wellbutrin (buproprion) and if it has impacted your weight at all. Thanks!
Old 12-19-2006, 02:56 AM   #2  
Zen master

S/C/G: 283/265/210

Height: 6'5"

I took Wellbutrin for about 2 months (disclaimer: I took it for anti-smoking, so it may have affected my metabolism a bit different) and saw no effect on my appetite or weight. According to my drug book (I'm an RN student), weight loss IS a common side effect, so maybe it just didn't affect me or I wasn't on it long enough. I do know that it made me dizzier than heck though.

Good luck and best wishes!
Old 12-25-2006, 07:07 AM   #3  
~Believe~

S/C/G: XXX/-155/140

Height: 5'3

I've taken Wellbutrin off an on for a while. I am currently back on it and yes, for me it does suppress my appetite. But that is about it..............So I guess yes it can help assist in weightloss, but probably not with everybody. I wouldn't count on it at least. If it does help, then that is just an added bonus.

Old 12-25-2006, 08:27 PM   #4  

I have been on that med and saw no benefits. However, I will say that I found it much easier to resist food or to not give in to cravings. So, I am still trying
Old 12-30-2006, 01:11 AM   #5  

S/C/G: 233/222/133

My doctor prescribed it just for weight loss. It seemed to curb my appetite, and it made me happy, so i liked it.
Old 01-01-2007, 12:22 AM   #6  
Co-Mod

S/C/G: 272/129/127