Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 11-16-2009, 10:38 PM   #1  
Finding my wings...

S/C/G: 256/see ticker/156

Height: 5'2 and a freakin' HALF!

Question Mononessa/Orthocyclen

The NP at Planned Parenthood just switched me to this from Trinessa, which I'd been on for several months. Trinessa gave me horrible mood swings, yeast infections, etc etc and it seemed to just be getting worse. So far, I haven't noticed a huge difference on Mononessa, but I've only been on it for a week.

I'm just wondering if anyone here has had an problems (or good experiences) on Mononessa or Orthocyclen and could let me know? My biggest concern, of course, is gaining weight or even not being able to lose weight as easily. It could be because I've reached a plateau, or because I REALLY need to start working out more than the once a week I've been doing for the past two months because of a crazy work schedule.... but for some reason my scale doesn't seem to want to budge this week. In fact, it went up a pound, which is abnormal for me! Hasn't gone higher than that (THEN I'd start to panic maybe, cos that's rare for me unless I've had a hardcore cheater day!).... but still.

Ugh. Why can't I be a teenager again... when every BC seemed to work for me?
starfishkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:46 PM   #2  

My experience has been - and now is that birth control does put weight on. I am on Tri- and the scale hasn't been nice. However, I know I have to work extra hard to even lose anything!
kazem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 12:27 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 225/207/140

Height: 5'5