Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Closed Thread

Old 11-13-2001, 12:49 PM   #1  

Angry Thyroid Thread

I just got my thyroid evaluated yesterday (our family history on thryoid problems is immense), and it turns out that my thyroid is underactive.

I want to start losing a few pounds again (this time with thyroid medication), and hopefully it won't be this pointless battle where i eat veggies and exercise a lot and still gain.

Does anyone want to join me in this? Willing to post a wee bit every week or so? I'm a student, so I won't be making long posts.

:-)

andrea
Old 11-14-2001, 11:36 AM   #2  

I'll join you ... I also have hypothyrodism and also have asthma and have to take oral steroids...a double whammy but I am still able to lose. I have had 2 appointments with the dietician in my doctor's office and she has helped me immensely. You need to cut back (not out) on carbs, especially refined, and increase protein. Also, eat at the top of your range. We are particularly susceptable to going into starvation mode. Also, exercise to keep your thyroid working. Drink plenty of water and be sure to eat a variety of foods and get 25-30 grams of fiber per day. I wish you success, and lets post occasionally and keep in touch!
Old 11-19-2001, 12:57 AM   #3  

I've finally gotten my medication; pharmacies are such a pain to deal with at times.

I also gotten a 12 week journal at weight watchers, and I've started using that to write down what I eat. My goal right now is to just write stuff down, not necessarily stay in my points range, but i'm not gonna go out of my to eat crappily.

I'm in the midst of a paper writing ****, cuz all the teachers have decided that Thanksgiving break should be used for writing papers and reading textbooks. :-)

How are things going for you?
Old 11-19-2001, 09:53 AM   #4