Old 09-25-2013, 01:35 PM   #1  

Location: Anchorage AK in the summer, Lawrence KS and travel in the winter

S/C/G: High 285+ 256/ticker/160ish

Height: 5'6"

Default Type 2's and Intermittent Fasting

A Type 2 diabetic here:

After years of working through binge eating disorder and now getting a handle on my previously very crappy diet, I am interested in IF. I have been doing a version of lower carb, lower glycemic intuitive eating and it seems that my IE patterns fall very closely to what I'm understanding that IF might be.

I've lost weight and feel better since going to a better diet and not overeating but have hit a stubborn plateau, a weight set point that I previously sat at for years. IF seems easy enough to implement and adhere to especially since we will be traveling for the next few months.

I am totally new to the IF concept. I am female, 55, very physically fit for my condition and weight. I'm on a moderate dose of metformin, a drug for early diabetics or diabetics in control. My A1C is 6.5, nearing normal territory though my morning glucose is still higher than it should be.

I'm hoping IF will help with that. I don't have low blood glucose events unless I'm on stronger diabetes meds which I eventually have to dump. Clearly for me, losing weight and exercise is the only pill that will work to improve my condition in the long run.

Are there any Type 2's here or any IFers with ideas for me. I will cross post this in diabetic support as well.

Thanks in advance.

Cat
vintagecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 07:55 PM   #2  
Madeleine

S/C/G: sw187/cw152/gw140

Height: 5 ft 3.5 in or 163 cm