Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 08-17-2005, 10:20 AM   #1  

Default lost

Hey, everybody,
I’m a bit new to the whole depression thing, well, not new to having it, but new to recognizing what it is. I haven’t been officially diagnosed, but from the research I’ve done my self it seems right.
It’s sort of like swimming in the dark without any landmarks. Where you keep trying to reach the land, but it all seems to lead you deeper and deeper in to the water. I keep on trying to lose weight, and to feel better, but keep on gaining instead. Every once in a while I just get in this “funk” where I can sit down in front of the TV all evening and the thoughts that are going through my mind are of this sort: “What’s the point, even if I do manage to loose that weight, It still won’t make me happy.” “No matter how hard I try, I will never be as skinny as I really want to be, so why bother.” Or sometimes I just want to cry for no good reason whatsoever. Every once in a while I just get angry with my self and that’s actually better than being in a “funk”, at least than I don’t feel like none of this life is worth bothering with.
I drink too much too, sometimes it seems like the way for me to feel happy is to get drunk, than it doesn’t seem so bad. I’m not an alcoholic, but being 310 lbs I can drink quite a bit and not be drunk, so it’s all sort of relative.