Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 07-16-2013, 10:00 AM   #1  
Megan Leigh

S/C/G: 170/170/140

Height: 5'6"

Exclamation ***REALLY*** need some support & helpful advice over here!

I am almost 28 years old, not extremely active, and know nothing about getting fit. Somebody PLEASE help me out! I am brand new to this whole forum thing..it just looks like 3FC is a good place to get support and advice from other people trying to get in shape like I am.

Last year, I had hernia surgery and was off work for quite some time. During that time I gained 20 pounds. After returning to work, I got promoted.. But I no longer have to do all of the heavy lifting or tons of running around so I gained even more weight. Ten weeks ago yesterday, I quit smoking after ten years of the nasty habit. Of course, that has caused me to gain even MORE weight.

Up until a couple years ago, I had always been a small-framed woman with a ridiculously high metabolism who could eat anything and everything (5'6" weighing 125-130 lbs). I think some of it comes with age and the rest of it comes with drinking. I like to drink when I'm not working and I think that's what my main problem is. I eat healthy 90% of the time. If I have time to eat breakfast, I usually have eggs & bacon to try to jump start my metabolism for the day. My lunches usually consist of one of the following:

-turkey sandwich (honey wheat bread, 6 thin slices of turkey sandwich meat, very thin layer of mayo on both pieces of bread, one slice of american cheese)
-Salad (iceberg & Romain lettuces, bacon bits, a small handful of shredded cheese, and occasionally I'll throw in sliced radishes, cucumbers, grape tomatoes, and chopped up sandwich meat) with about 4-6 oz of dressing