new and having a bad day

• hey guys,

I'm not new to 3FC but this is my first time posting in the depression forum.

honestly, I don't think I'm "depressed", like the definition of it, but every once in a while, i get these bouts when i feel so horrible and sad, about myself, my life, and everything and i just cry and cry... often, those bouts are triggered by my romantic relationships, so the rest of the time, i'm a pretty happy person... but when i google "depression" it seems to be an all-or-nothing kinda thing... so i think, "i must not be suffering from depression". but then again, what kind of sane person goes into a panic attack over her bf not replying to a text message??

when i was a teenager, i was depressed a lot more often than now. i was really fat, i shut myself away to avoid heartbreak, i was a virgin until age 22. that's when i got my first boyfriend. i dropped 60lbs after that and my self-esteem slowly went up. up until recently, my depressive bouts were few and far between.

i think dieting is making me depressed. i think that i equal food with comfort, and that since i'm dieting, i've taken that comfort away and it's making me feel more and more miserable, even though i've been doing good at my diet. i've been dieting for about 5 months, but in the last 2 months or so, my weightloss has stalled. i feel like the whole thing is pointless and then i start feeling miserable and like a failiure. this last month, i've been crying every other day. i can't even blame pms today...