Depression due to not enough fat in diet?

• I've been receiving treatment for depression, anxiety, and insomnia since June 2007. That treatment has included many medications/doses and counseling. After about a year of counseling and adjusting meds, I was feeling much better. My counselor and I agreed that I didn't really need the counseling anymore, and I was getting along fine.

I joined Weight Watchers last October and my diet changed pretty drastically. I used to eat fast food at least 5 times a week and drink quite a bit of alcohol. I'm now eating much healthier and only drinking occasionally. I go to the gym 3-4 times a week. I've even lost about 40 pounds!

However, for some reason that I can't explain, I've been feeling horrible. I don't sleep well, I'm completely exhausted all the time, I have no motivation to do anything, and I often find that I can't articulate arguments (which is a problem since I basically write and reason for a living). I've started crying in my office again, which was the big motivator for me to seek help in the first place. Right now, my job is actually in jeopardy due to my depression issues.

I've had tons of tests run by my family doctor, and there's nothing physically wrong with me (besides my obesity, which I'm working on). I've also been analyzing my nutritional intake, and I noticed that my daily fat intake is much lower than FDA recommendations. During this month, I haven't gotten more than 15% of my daily calories from fat in any given day, but most recommendations I've seen suggest getting 30% of calories from "good fats."

Has anyone seen a low-fat diet have such a negative effect on a person's mood? This isn't even an ultra low-fat diet, it's just a product of eating low-fat foods instead of fast food. I know I need to see my psychiatrist and not just post questions online, but my appointment is two weeks away. Does anyone have any words of wisdom?