3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Cooking Tips and Questions (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/cooking-tips-questions-142/)
-   -   My beans are hard! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/cooking-tips-questions/252375-my-beans-hard.html)

LindaWW 02-06-2012 02:34 PM

My beans are hard!

Help! It's my first time cooking with dried beans, but I wanted to try them because canned beans have so much sodium. I soaked my beans overnight, like the directions said. (heck, actually all day and then overnight) This morning I put together chili in the crock pot. It's been cooking on high for 4 hours now, and my beans are still hard! What did I do wrong? Can I fix this in time for dinner 6 hours from now? Thanks!

mammasita 02-06-2012 02:58 PM

Did you add enough liquid to the crock pot? What temp are you cooking at and what else is in the pot with the beans?

I've cooked with dried beans before, but I normally boil them after they soak.

Ruthxxx 02-06-2012 02:59 PM

Hate to tell you this but you should have cooked the beans separately in water this morning before making the chili. When you use canned beans, they are already cooked. Not sure if you can fix this in time for dinner though.

Sorry. Maybe somebody else has a solution.

nelie 02-06-2012 03:14 PM

Crockpots vary but you do have to make sure you do have enough water. You might have to continue to cook on high for a few more hours but again make sure there is enough water.

Also, if the beans are old then it may take longer. I usually buy mine at a natural foods store that makes sure their beans are fairly new.

bargoo 02-06-2012 03:32 PM

I just cook mine on top of the stove and they would have been done by now. How much water did you add to the pot? If I cook a one pound pack of beans I use 8 cups of water.

tinkerbelll 02-06-2012 03:33 PM