Easy recipes cooking for 1

• Does anyone have any EASY recipes for a single person? I'm an awful cook and tend to eat easy to grab processed, tv dinners or food that comes out a window.

Also does anyone here have or has had high cholesterol and know how to eat right to lower it?

Thanks!
  • I'm just eating one of my favourite's now -

Store shredded veggies fried in 1 tsp peanut oil
    with 3 oz cooked chicken
    about 6 flakes of chili
    a shake of ground ginger
    ground black pepper
    finished off with 1/2 TBSP of soy sauce
    250 calories

I pile it into a little Chinese bowl. I know it sounds silly, but if I put it in my normal ceral bowls, it looks tiny, and I feel hungry. Because it's overflowing a much smaller bowl, my brain things whoopee!
  • I HAD high cholesterol, but not anymore.

I drastically cut down the amount of red meat I ate and drastically increased my fruit and vegetable intake. I also stopped eating white breads. I didn't cut carbs, I just have whole grain bread where i would have had white bread before.

I live alone and I have a really busy schedule, so I tend to use my slow cooker and freeze a lot of things.

Here are two recipes that I made from the left over Thanksgiving turkey, but you could sub in some canned, shredded chicken!

1) Turkey Chili

- Shredded Turkey
    - 1 large can tomato puree
    - 1 large can diced tomatoes
    - 1 small can black beans
    - 1 small can kidney beans
    - 1 chopped onion
    - red pepper
    - black pepper
    - chili powder
    - ground cumin

Throw it all into the crock pot and set it for 10 hours (lowest temperature setting) and BAM....Amazing...

2) Turkey Soup

- Shredded turkey
    - 1 large box low-sodium chicken stock
    - Equal part water to the chicken stock
    - 1 package baby spinach
    - 1 diced onion
    - 3 diced carrots
    - 3 stalks of celery (cut)
    - Rosemary (cut)
    - black pepper, parsley, basil, oregano, sage, thyme, marjoram