Old 06-16-2007, 11:09 AM   #1  
Going to ONEderland

Default What a great tool!

I've been doing Flylady for a few years now to help me keep my house clean. Today I read a letter she wrote about how people need tools to accomplish what they are trying to do. In this case she was talking about a timer.

But it got me thinking about something else. I'm a person who has lost weight on Atkins only to screw up and start to gain it back, then I tend to become frustrated with myself and find I'm beating myself up and then because of hating how I feel, I give up all together. It's called "perfectionism".

The feelings of disappointment in myself tend to lead to feelings of failure which tend to lead to abandonment of the goal. To that feeling of "who am I kidding? I can't do this perfectly!"

I realize with a part of my mind that we don't have to be absolutely perfect 100% of the time to make it work. If we are good 80% of the time and only occasionally have a relapse we can still lose the weight.

But still this morning when I got up after screwing up yesterday, I had the thought as I went into the bathroom to weigh "I screwed up badly yesterday, I'm going to pay for it today, the scale will be higher, I'll become discouraged, I'll mess up my weight for the week."

The tool I'm talking about is the weekly weight average chart I built using Excel. Since I can't easily give you a picture of it I will describe it.