3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Calorie Counters (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/calorie-counters-172/)
-   -   Daily Calorie Help Please! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/calorie-counters/287931-daily-calorie-help-please.html)

ruby2sday 09-24-2013 08:28 PM

Daily Calorie Help Please!

I am new to this, and need a bit of help from all you seasoned calorie counters! I am on day 2. I started yesterday and randomly picked 1200 calories to start with. I did great, I thought, and actually came in about 50 calories under my goal for the day. I made good healthy choices, and I felt great. I didn't feel hungry or anything.

Today I was looking through some posts and decided to try to find out where I should actually be starting for daily calories. Yes, I also checked the FAQ above. The numbers seem so high! Like 2000 calories/day and up.

Is it better to start higher, and adjust? This is all suddenly confusing to me, and I am determined to stay on track this time and accomplish what I need to do, but I want to make sure I'm doing it right.

I know everybody is different, but how did you all determine where to start for daily calories.

Thank you all in advance!

DrivenByAmbition 09-24-2013 08:40 PM

You can check one of the online trackers such as livestrong, myfitness pal, etc. They have calculators which may point you in a certain direction.

SarainMN 09-24-2013 09:06 PM

I use "my fitness pal"
it goes by your weight and everything
I get 1240 calories a day and do pretty good staying within that range
I don't think its good to start to low...you have no where to go from there

ruby2sday 09-24-2013 09:57 PM

I have checked several places, but I keep seeing 2000+ per day, which seems very high to me. I know I ate a lot more than that when I wasn't watching what I was eating, but to me, it's hard to get to that number eating lean meats and lots of veggies and fruit.