Old 05-16-2011, 12:25 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 211/TICKER/135

Height: 5'7

Smile New Calorie Counter/Dieter looking to lose 50 lbs.

Hi!

I'm new to calorie counting as well as dieting in general. I'm looking to lose 50 lbs. in about 9 months. I'm hoping this is possible, as I sit at a desk 5 days a week for 8 hours.

I'm looking for any advice, tips, tricks, etc. that I can get.

Is it possible to lose this amount of weight in that period of time, with the working conditions I have?
losingLOLA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 12:31 PM   #2  
I am in control.

Height: 5'9

Welcome, Lola! I have a desk job, too, so I feel ya, girl! I've heard that losing weight is 80% eating and 20% exercise, so don't feel bad if you can't move around a lot at work.

My biggest tip for you is to be patient. Weight doesn't just fall off (unfortunately!) and it pays to be persistent and consistent. What is your starting height/weight if you don't mind me asking?
Emme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 12:45 PM   #3  

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emme View Post
Welcome, Lola! I have a desk job, too, so I feel ya, girl! I've heard that losing weight is 80% eating and 20% exercise, so don't feel bad if you can't move around a lot at work.

My biggest tip for you is to be patient. Weight doesn't just fall off (unfortunately!) and it pays to be persistent and consistent. What is your starting height/weight if you don't mind me asking?
Hi Emme! I totally left that part out. I'm 5'6 1/2 (I just say 5'7) and 170 lbs.
Old 05-16-2011, 12:47 PM   #4  

Height: 5'5"

I have the same problem (desk job!). Good luck! Remember not to set unrealistic goals for yourself - 120 at 5'7 is pretty tiny!
readyfreddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 01:04 PM   #5  

Quote:
Originally Posted by readyfreddy View Post
I have the same problem (desk job!). Good luck! Remember not to set unrealistic goals for yourself - 120 at 5'7 is pretty tiny!