3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   Body Image and Issues after Weight Loss (http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/body-image-issues-after-weight-loss-219/)
-   -   Weight Loss And Skin FAQs (http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/body-image-issues-after-weight-loss/36040-weight-loss-skin-faqs.html)

Meg 01-31-2004 08:58 AM

Weight Loss And Skin FAQs

Weight Loss And Skin FAQs

Frequently, questions are asked in the different forums here at 3FC about what happens to our skin as we lose weight and what can be done about it after we reach our goal weights. The following FAQs have been put together to try to answer some of the most common questions. If you have a question that isn’t listed here, post it in the Maintainers Forum and we’ll see if anyone can answer. Please note: I’m not a doctor, nor is anyone else who has contributed to these FAQs, but we all have first-hand experiences with excess skin after weight loss and can try to answer based on our own personal knowledge, opinions, and experiences.

1. What will my skin look like when I reach my target weight? The most important thing to remember about weight loss and your skin is that no one — not even a doctor— can tell in advance what your skin will look like when your reach your goal weight. Every person’s skin will react differently to weight loss.

However, many people who lose a significant amount of weight are unpleasantly surprised to find that their skin looks worse and worse as the pounds drop off. Fat cells themselves never go away entirely; they empty out but their structure remains behind. As the fat from the cells and inches melt away, there’s less support for the overlying skin and it starts to look deflated — collapsed and wrinkled — like a balloon that was blown up and popped. Since the underlying fat layer to which the skin was attached is now gone, it flops around loosely.