Old 06-09-2010, 04:25 PM   #1  

Height: 160

Default Seeking advice on low carb diets

Hi everyone, I'm new here and I'm trying to go on a low carb diet eg Atkin's because I want to lose weight fast. However, I'm having real trouble resisting my cravings, and I've never managed to refrain from carbs for long enough to enter ketosis. The longest I've gone without carbs was 24 hrs and I felt dreadful- exhausted! Is this meant to happen and does it stop?

Also, how helpful is exercise on a low carb diet? Because since you are burning up your fat as energy, then logically the more exercise you do the more energy you need, the more fat you burn? How much exercise should I be doing and of what kind?
hannah11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:58 PM   #2  
Carbs are evil

Height: 5'6"

Hi Hannah,

I'm far from an expert but I'll answer from experience. First of all, i have seen people lose weight fast on atkins but unless you stick to the plan when the weight is off it just goes straight back on. This is the same for any diet. The benefit of atkins in my opinion is that you don't feel like you're starving yourself, i have lots of energy and eat when i want!

I've been doing atkins for a few weeks now. The first week I felt awful.. I think they refer to this as atkins flu. I was sick in bed for 4 days - I reckon though I had a cold and the change in my diet just made it worse. It'd didn't last though and I was good as new the next week.