Old 04-21-2010, 02:43 PM   #1  

Default New around here

Hi everyone! I'm new to 3FC. I think the Atkin's diet (or a lower fat modification of it - like Paleo diet) would be good for me. I know that my body reacts to starches with bloating, gas, discomfort etc. and I have horrible carb/sugar/caffeine addictions to break. I recently visited a weight loss MD out of desperation who put me on the hcg/500 calorie diet. I have been on it for 4 days and know that there is no way I can continue something so extreme. However, I am ready to use the benefit of the fact that I have had almost no carbs (or food at all! Ugh!) for 4 days to get a jump start on a sustainable program.

I tried Atkins in the past and although I was losing a good amount of weight, I ultimately failed because the high protein and fat content of the rich foods I was eating was making me nauseous and constipated. I would like to do a low carb diet, but with lots of veggies and lean meats. My body doesn't digest large amounts of red meats, high fat dairy (like cream) and fat very well.

I have autoimmune thyroid disease and have been treated for 10 years, since I was 21. I have been 40-60 lbs overweight since then.

Any advice on jumping off the ridiculous (sorry if anyone has enjoyed this diet) HCG train and onto the Atkins or Paleo train? I'm already on the right track. I am also cleansing and can tell that all kinds of stuff is clearing out of my body. I've had headache/chills and dizziness for the past 2 days.
johannaengland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 08:09 AM   #2  

S/C/G: Goal: 140

Height: 5'7"