Old 07-26-2009, 05:14 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 195/179/130

Height: 5'4"

Default Lots of question?!

Is it possible that i could be having too much protein? " Dr. Atkins recommended approximately 65% fat, 5% carbs and 30% protein." Unsure as how to make sure this is what i'm eating. Less meat, more olive oil?

Would it be better to use heavy cream in my coffee or half and half, being that heavy cream has more fat and half and half has more carbs?

Been on Atkins since June 19, 09. Have lost 15 lbs, but seem to be at a standstill for 2 weeks. Staying on induction for at least 2 more months. Do i ever reach a point when I can have milk again? I think I miss that more than anything. Trying to do this right!
wenwen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 06:30 AM   #2  
Maintenance May 2011

S/C/G: 312/149/150

Height: 5'6"

I'm on Day 6 of Induction so I'm pretty new at Atkins myself. I've found getting the right balance/percentages of protein & fats to be a bit of a challenge at this stage. I seem to get better at it each day. I log everything I consume into FitDay and that really helps with keeping track of net carbs and even more helpful, it gives you those percentage figures for everything including protein & fats. I'm trying to plan my menu the day before so I can add or subtract foods to get the right stats.

Half & Half is not allowed during Induction. You can have up to 3 oz. of unsweetened heavy cream/day though.

I would go over your typical daily menu in FitDay to see if any adjustments can be made. Also, from what I've read from others on Atkins, sometimes Extended Induction doesn't really result in great weight losses and many have found that they start losing again when they go into OWL Rung 1 (5g net carbs from additional veggies).

I think milk can be added in on OWL Rung 2 (dairy). Congrats on your weight loss so far and I hope the scale starts moving again.
mizski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 10:26 AM   #3  
Larry's Angel