Exercise! - Cool Runners- It's December!

View Full Version : Cool Runners- It's December!

ennay
12-01-2006, 10:59 AM
Just starting it off, went a bit over 4 today, a bit sluggish at first but warmed up

SarahinBalance
12-01-2006, 11:50 AM
Wanted to repost this question here as I'm curious what you ladies do.

Still shaking off this cold. Do you ladies have any advice about running with a cough cause I'm fine WHILE I'm running but have a 15 min coughing fit AFTER. Haven't run since Tuesday.... Thoughts?

Ilene
12-01-2006, 12:17 PM
Thanks for starting the thread Ennay...

Sarah, I would give myself a rest if I would have a coughing fit afterwards I would worry that it could irritate your lungs and turn into bronchitis, I'm no doctor or nurse and I'm not even sure if this is possible...

I haven't run in 2 days :faint: ...

YP1
12-01-2006, 03:07 PM
On running clubs, from the last thread. They vary. There are a few near me, and I am a member of the most "recreational" of them, as far as I can tell. The one closer to me takes things a lot more seriously (one of their runners ran in the Olympic marathon a couple of years back, as an indications of just how seriously!), and even though they said that I wasn't too slow when I emailed them (mind you, this was back when I was faster), I got the impression that they were into hard training, and I'd be lingering at the back. My running club on the other hand is far more relaxed, there are plenty of girls, particularly in the last group, who just jog once or twice a week with the club for exercise, but don't want to take it any further than that. Three people from that last group took over an hour for the 10k on Sunday. Then the middle group, which is roughly my level, and the fast boys at the front. There's certainly no pressure to race (or even to get faster), even when we do time trials or fartlek they make it clear that if you want to jog round you can, and people will wait.