Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 11-02-2006, 05:44 PM   #1  

Default Knees Hurting from Treadmill?

Ive been running for about 15 minutes out of my 30 minutes on the treadmill and my knees have been hurting since last week. My ankle feels kind of sore too. Am I doing something wrong to make my knees hurt or is it just something I need to get used too. Im only 22 and I just dont get why it feels like I have old lady knees.
SarahMahfoud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:49 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 214/210/164

Height: 5'0"

I'm not a doctor or anything, so this should be taken with a grain of salt!

Treadmills are a high-impact aerobic activity. The hard surface puts a lot of stress on your weight-bearing joints (i.e., ankles, knees, hips). If you're not used to working out on one, it could just be that this is too much for your body. When I first started on the treadmill, I was always in pain. It wasn't until I lost some weight that the reduction in joint stress enabled me to stay on for longer amounts of time. (I went from 20 minutes walking to a solid 60 minutes of jogging/walking).

Also, remember that the more excess weight you carry, the more stress you put on your joints just in regular activities. You may want to consider a lower impact activity like a stationary bike or elliptical.

There is also a possibility that you're stomping your heel against the treadmill when you step, and you can try focusing on rolling from your heel to the ball of your foot -- a little less stress AND it works the calves and butt harder!!
Kim_Star060404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 06:39 PM   #3  
*confetti*

S/C/G: 270.9/176.1/165

Height: 5'6"

Some info regarding knee injuries.

Additionally if you haven't gotten fitted for a pair of running shoes, then that may also be a cause for your pain. If you already own a pair, then it may be time to replace them.

If you haven't been fitted for a running shoe: