Old 07-22-2006, 01:21 AM   #1  
How does this thing work?

S/C/G: 250/221/150

Height: 5' 5"

Default Hi, I'm a newbie!

Hi everyone.

This is my first post. This is my second time low-carbing. I started with Atkins for the first time about 18 months ago. It went well for the two months I was on it. I had to stop though because I was allowing it to take over my life.

I was obsessed with counting carbs. If I went 2 or 3 over, I had a bad day. One night I even had a nightmare that I forgot that I was on Atkins and ate 2 or 3 Lifesavers. My husband, who was concerned about me, finally suggested that I try something else when I was worried that didn't cut my avocado exactly in half. It was really bad...

I restarted Atkins on July 10. Well, it's more Atkinsesque. I'm not counting my carbs, but I'm avoiding refined sugars and starches, fruit (until I lose at least 50 pounds) and juice. I'm also being mindful having too much saturated fat and count back on fat when I can. For instance, I'm using Pam instead of oil when I can. I'm also taking the skin off my chicken and cutting fat off of steak. Instead of really dieting, I'm eating the way I want to eat for the rest of my life. Except I won't be eating fruit or eating pita bread too often right now.

So it's been 11 days and I've lost 5 or 6 pounds. If I'd followed the Atkins plant to a t, I'd have lost more. But I'm happier this way. And not stressed. At any rate, I am happy I found this forum. I've been browsing on and off for a couple of months and I've read some great information here. I hope to continue ot benefit as well as share helpful information with the rest of you.
Amany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2006, 02:20 AM   #2  
searching 4 the real me