Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 05-31-2006, 12:04 PM   #1  

Default can i train every day?

hi,
i'm a college student home for the summer looking to lose about 20 lbs of bodyfat and increase muscle. i am doing basically nothing all summer, which gives me as much time as i would like to work out. i also play rugby for my school, which has a ridiculously high rate of injuries, so i'd like to do whatever i can do during the offseason to decrease the chance of injury. right now, i am lifting 6x a week, with a simple push/pull split with a focus on explosive power, which i need for rugby. i also do a ton of interval training and regular endurance training. according to what i've read, this is too much lifting, although i feel pretty great and have been getting stronger. should i cut down on the lifting, and, if so, can i replace it with some other form of activity (i am willing to do swimming, pilates, etc low impact things)? thanks!
rugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 01:45 PM   #2  

couple of things.

1. you're lifting 6 days a week with a push/pull split. can we assume then that you're doing 3 days of a push, 3 days of a pull? what type of exercises are included in those workouts? what type of reps and sets are you doing?

2. how often and how long is each of your interval training sessions?

Michael Navin, CSCS
leanbodyfitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 02:08 PM   #3  

Default my routine

yeah, 3 push, 3 pull. generally i do 3x15 of each of these exercises.
pull-
lunges, leg extension
bench press, fly
squat
incline bench press
shoulder press
calf press
tricep dip, kickback
hip adductor

pull-
lat pulldown
hamtractor, step-downs
row
hip abductor
shoulders- front raise, lateral raise, rear row
bicep curls
shrug
abs

i do about 30-45 minutes of interval training (varying time/intensity) each day.
rugger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:40 PM   #4