South Beach Diet - The Wine Appreciation Thread!

View Full Version : The Wine Appreciation Thread!

pearshape
04-01-2006, 10:21 AM
OK, I'm starting another wine thread. Since wine in moderation is fine for the SBD (P2) I thought we could all share our wine preferences and whatever. It seems fitting to do it on the start of the weekend. I just want to know how often/much you gals drink wine and what types you like. I usually have a glass every other night or so. I'm a light weight when it comes to alcohol but Dr. A said one or two glasses with a meal is fine. One thing I really like about wines is that when tasting a wine it really puts you in tune with your senses and your body when you pay attention to exactly what you're tasting. It's really interesting. But I'm new to wines and so far I really like the following wines:

Reds:
-Beaujolais (all I've tried): It's light and fruity without being sweet. My fav red.
-Merlot: depending on the brand can be really good
-Cabernet Sauvignon: again, depends on the brand
-Malbec: tried a few and really liked them
-Chianti: like the little I've tried so far
Plus I've tried lots of blends of different wines and like them a lot.

Whites:
-Viognier: my favorite white so far. it's creamy and fruity tasting and refreshign but not too tart and not sweet
-Sauvignon Blanc: depends on the brands, but it's ok
-Chardonnay: haven't tried it yet but I have a bottle and will try it soon.

amelie77
04-01-2006, 11:19 AM
I am so glad you started this thread! I tried to ask this question a couple of days ago, and didn't get much response! I love wine, and would love ideas on different ones to try. I am a fan of chardonnay, and I discovered while eating out one night a merlot and cabrenet blend that I really enjoyed. Since, I have also tried a merlot shiraz blend and enjoyed it too. Over Christmas, my husband guard unit had a wine tasting event, and quite honestly, I didn't find a wine I didn't like!

milkseat
04-01-2006, 11:51 AM