Dieting with Obstacles - New to Hypothyroid

View Full Version : New to Hypothyroid

ksjaberjaw
03-14-2006, 05:35 PM
I was just dx with hypothyroid yesterday and I was searching for answers to what I have and I found this site. I have been batteling weight problems for years I am a 36 years old married mother of 3 (17,13, and 4) currently I am 5'7" and 285 lbs., also from what I read loss of sex drive, memory loss and several other things are all symptoms of this. I was kind of supprised to get this diagnosis. I went to the doctor for onset muscle weekness and they ran a battery of tests on Friday and told me to start taking a vitamin and co-q-10the doctor then called on monday and said that my thyroid level was a concern and they were calling the pharmacy with a prescription to begin taking them that day. I didnt receive really any information from them other then that was what they found so I am not sure what my level was. I was reading that I should not take the vitamens with the medicince and several other facts that I was unaware of. Is there someone that can give me more information on this disease and some good sites for research so that I can understand what is going on and what I should be doing until I return to the doctor on 3/30.

ksjaberjaw

cheekin
03-14-2006, 06:02 PM
i was diagnosed with hypothyroidism about a year and a half ago, and am finally on the right dose of medications.

thyroid supplements will help your metabolism restart and get you back to normal energywise. it takes about 6 weeks of taking a dose of medicine to get your body used to it, and then you'll need to have another blood test, which might adjust the levels, and this will repeat untill you and your dr like the numbers. its a good practice to get a copy of the labs and look at the numbers yourself (i had one dr who was entirely incompetent and misread the results)