General Diet Plans and Questions - Doin' it the old fashioned way!

View Full Version : Doin' it the old fashioned way!

aphil
07-21-2001, 07:40 PM
Hello everyone!
I am pretty new to this sight, but not to diet and nutrition. I have always had to watch my weight, even as an active high school student, I was always a few pounds heavier than the most popular girls. I have tried low carb, no carb, chitosol/zenical, metabolife, chromium picolinate, liquid fast diets, juice fasts, anything promising a quick fix-LADIES,THEY DON'T WORK!!!!!!!
The most important thing we need to remember is that the fat did not just appear on our bodies in a few weeks, so it is insane to beleive that we can get it off that quickly! :(
Like most fatties, I have to keep excersizing to keep my metabolism stimulated, for dieting alone and staying sedentary causes my body to conserve energy and hang on to the fat! Even if you can lose weight with diet alone, you will eventually just be a "skinny fat", or someone who is small in size, but with jiggly behind and arms, and lack of muscle tone! I cannot stress the importance of exercise! Starting out with 30 min. of aerobic exercise everyday is a great start!
Also, totally cutting out certain foods is asking for failure! I eat a moderate diet of about 1500 calories a day-I try to eat a variety with lots of veggies and fruit, but every week I include a couple treats like a few Hershey kisses or 2 slices of veggie pizza on Friday nights! I f you totally cut out something you love you will become obsessed with things you cannot have!
Living this way has kept me at a decent weight all the time, as well as helping me lose 50 lbs. of baby weight from my first child, Jasmine, and is now helping me lose the weight I gained from my new baby boy, Raiden! ( I have lost 5 so far!):smug: