Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 12-21-2005, 08:27 PM   #1  
Want them Muscles!

S/C/G: 135/129/120

Default For the Personal Trainers out there

Hey there!

I was just wondering if you trainers could give me some tips.
I am a recent cancer survivor ( had a Stemm Cell transplant last march 30th). My docs have given me the go ahead to work out (more cardio, not too heavy with the weights). I was very much into the weights before I got sick and would really like to get back into the gym starting in January. I am on prednisone (thus have to go easy on the weights)...

So I know "take it slow" "listen to your body"...and all that stuff...I was a trainer too before I got sick... I would like to see results rather quickly, but have not dealt with anyone who has been on prednisone.

This is my plan:

Cardio:40mins3-4times a week
Weights: 30mins3-4 times a week (full body to start).

about the weights: What kind of full body program should I do...

Anyother advice would be great!!!!
fitgal2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 08:45 PM   #2  
Mel

Hi fitgal

I really don't have any answers for you, but wanted to say hello.

I've worked with several cancer survivors (various types) and other than the usual precautions which you already mentioned, nothing was any different for them than for someone who wasn't previously sick or deconditioned.

I've been on prednisone and boy, am I impressed that you can actually lose weight while taking it! I wanted to (and did) eat non-stop while taking it. I was literally hallucinating food.

Mel
Mel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2005, 08:55 PM   #3  
Working My Way Back Down