General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Closed Thread

Old 06-13-2005, 10:51 AM   #1  
I'm lovin my scale

Default Crochet Anyone?

Hi all,
I just wanted to find out if anyone else out there crochets and ask for some ideas. I've been doing it for maybe five years, still basically a beginner, but that suits me. I make afghans, they're flat and square and don't really require too much thought. I've got a box of yarn odds and ends that i don't know what to do with. I don't have enough of any one of them to make something, but i'd sure like some ideas of what to do with the mess of them. Any are welcome.
Thanks,
Christine
Old 06-13-2005, 12:37 PM   #2  

You can do a granny square throw. These are easy, and you can use up all the leftovers.
Old 06-13-2005, 02:17 PM   #3  
Scrap-aholic

I don't but I love being crafty. What about pot holders, with the left overs?? Can you do things like booties or hats...maybe a scarf??? I realize in AZ you might not need many scarves (is that the way you spell it?) but it could be fun to make and give as a gift to someone. Using the left overs would make a really unique scarf...I think...but I'm not really a "go with the flow" kinda gal.
Old 06-20-2005, 08:57 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 233.9/143/160

Height: 5'7"

If you look in the crochet pattern books in your local store, there are some great patterns for afghans that are made up of a bunch of different squares. There is a pattern that I have in particular, where each square in the blanket is in a different "stitch" such as single crochet, double crochet, triple crochet, popcorn stitch, etc. The pattern made them all out of one or two colors, and then used a plain color like white/ivory to edge them and attach them all, and do a nice edging. But, to use leftovers, you could make each square from a leftover fabric instead. It would make one of those great, homey throws that are great for watching a movie on the couch with.